The Arthur C. Clarke Awards shortlist has landed

Posted on April 28, 2016 by danielle. More news

Greetings, greetings, greetings, and oh wow do we have shortlist for you. ACC Stickers 2015 AW stg 1db

I’m going to be talking a lot about this both here and everywhere else I can in the weeks to come, so right now here’s the shortlist.

  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Europe at Midnight – Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
  • The Book of Phoenix – Nnedi Okorafor (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Arcadia – Iain Pears (Faber & Faber)
  • Way Down Dark – J.P. Smythe (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Children of Time – Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor)

The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a list of 113 individual eligible submissions, the second highest recorded number in the awards history.

Chair of the Judges, Dr Andrew M. Butler praised the judges:

“Our thirtieth award seemed especially difficult to bring down to a shortlist this year, from one of the highest submissions levels we’ve ever recieved. It was toughly argued, in a good-humoured way, and as ever I’m blown away by the hard work of our judges.”

Award Director Tom Hunter (me) added:

“When it’s your Award’s 30th anniversary you secretly hope for something that little bit extra special in your shortlist, and I think the judges have delivered on that promise and more this year.

“While I’m sure avid award watchers may find themselves wrong-footed by some of the calls, and with over 100 books in contention not every favourite book can make the top six, you can clearly see there’s passion, thought and indeed sacrifice behind all of these choices.

“This is a quintessentially Clarke Award kind of a shortlist. Look once and I’m sure everyone will see a choice they agree with. Look twice, and you’ll likely see a new book you want to read next. Look a third time though, and I hope you’ll see how well all of these six books sit together, and how they represent a particular special moment in time for UK science fiction. In other words, like all great books, this is a shortlist that rewards the more you read into it.”

Thank you, thank you, thank you to all our lovely judges!

  • David Gullen, British Science Fiction Association
  • Ian Whates, British Science Fiction Association
  • Liz Bourke, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Andrew McKie, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Leila Abu El Hawa, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Want to see more? #ClarkeAward is a good bet

Tom Hunter
Award Director

P.S. We don’t judge our books by their covers, but you totally can…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *