27th Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist announced

Posted on April 27, 2013 by NBA Webmaster. More news

The six shortlisted books for the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year 2013 are:

Nod by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)

Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus)

Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller (Headline)

Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit)

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

The six shortlisted titles were selected from a record-breaking long list of 82 individual eligible submissions, put forward by 32 different publishing houses and imprints.

Award Director Tom Hunter said:
“This is a fascinating and complex shortlist that demands repeated attention and thoughtful interpretation. Shortlisting six books from a potential list of eighty-two eligible submissions is no easy task by any critical standard. I wholeheartedly commend our judges for all of their hard work, and similarly for presenting a shortlist that I hope people will find as much engaging and optimistic as it is subversive and challenging.”

“I’ve been thinking continuously on this list ever since it was first presented to me by Andrew Butler, our Chair of Judges, and there are some key points to note:

“Of our six shortlisted authors, two have been nominated more than once before, Ken MacLeod and Kim Stanley Robinson, and so this could well be one of their years. Two are critically acclaimed first novels, those by Adrian Barnes and Peter Heller, and two have good form with other award wins. Chris Beckett gained wide acclaim for being the first genre writer to win the Edge Hill prize in 2009. Moreover Nick Harkaway has just just won The Kitschies Red Tentacle award for best novel – an award that has demonstrated an almost eerie track record in recent years for predicting the winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award.”

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2013 are:

• Juliet E McKenna, British Science Fiction Association
• Ruth O’Reilly, British Science Fiction Association
• Nickianne Moody, Science Fiction Foundation
• Liz Williams, Science Fiction Foundation
• Robert Grant, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 1st May at an exclusive award ceremony hosted by the Royal Society, London, and taking place as part of the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2013.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *