Shortlist announced for the Paddy Power Political Book Awards 2014

Posted on February 11, 2014 by mathew. More news

Political heavyweights Tony Benn, Jonathan Aitken, Alastair Campbell, Damian McBride, Michael Dobbs, Liam Fox and Alan Johnson join journalists Charles Moore, Max Hastings, Simon Heffer and Jeremy Paxman on the shortlists for the Paddy Power Political Book Awards.  Now in their second year, the Paddy Power Political Book Awards celebrate and reward excellence across all areas of political publishing.

Weidenfeld & Nicolson have three titles on the shortlist for Political Book of the Year.  Perilous Question by Lady Antonia Fraser, I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai and Christina Lamb, and Empire of the Deep by Ben Wilson.  Other titles shortlisted in this category include Power Trip by Damian McBride (Biteback), Charles Moore’s biography of Margaret Thatcher (Allen Lane) and This Boy by Alan Johnson (Bantam Press).  The winner of the Political Book of the Year will receive a cheque for £10,000 donated by Lord Ashcroft KCMG PC.

There is also a cheque for £3,000 for the winner of the Debut Political Book of the Year, also generously donated by Lord Ashcroft.  Titles in this category are People Power by Dan Jellinek (Bantam), Empire of Secrets by Calder Walton (William Collins), Making it Happen by Iain Martin (Simon & Schuster), The Default Line by Faisal Islam (Head of Zeus), The New Middle East by Paul Danahar (Bloomsbury) and Rising Tides: Facing the Challenges of a New Era by Liam Fox (Heron Books).

The awards cover all areas of political writing. Other awards presented on the night include Political Biography of the year in association with Total Politics, Polemic of the Year, Political History Book of the Year in association with News UK, Political Fiction Book of the Year, the Political Humour and Satire Award in association with the InterContinental London Westminster, International Affairs Book of the Year and Practical Politics Book of the Year.  There is also a Lifetime Achievement Award in Political Literature.  A total of 54 books are shortlisted across all 9 categories.

Iain Dale, founder of the awards, said, ‘Following a hugely successful inaugural year, this year’s Paddy Power Political Book Awards are better than ever.  Once again, the calibre of the shortlisted authors is outstanding, offering an inspiring reminder of the breadth of talent on show in political writing.’

Headline sponsor Paddy Power said, ‘Our business is based on the simple idea that betting should be entertaining. And what could be more entertaining than the machinations of politics? Paddy Power has always believed in political betting and going a bit beyond the normal by-election predictions: from running a book on the Papal elections to paying out early for David Cameron at the 2010 General Election. We are therefore delighted to support the Political Book Awards again this year. This is a fantastic shortlist and we’re happy to take bets on how many Gyles Brandreth will actually have read by the Ceremony on 19th March.’

The judging panels are made up of political journalists and leading political figures including David Trimble, Sir Ming Campbell, Lord Ashcroft, John Pienaar, Carolyn Quinn, Daisy McAndrew, Romilly Weeks, Chris Mullin, Andrew Mitchell, Caroline Shenton, Marilyn Warnick and Mary Beard.

The awards will be presented at a star-studded ceremony on Wednesday 19 March at the BFI IMAX cinema.


Polemic of the Year

  • What Should We Tell Our Daughters?  Melissa Benn   (John Murray)
  • The Necessity of Poverty  John Bird  (Quartet)
  • The Last Vote Philip Coggan  (Allen Lane)
  • The British Dream David Goodhart  (Atlantic Books)
  • How We Invented Freedom & Why It Matters  Daniel Hannan  (Head of Zeus)
  • What Has Nature Ever Done For Us?  Tony Juniper   (Profile Books)

International Affairs Book of the Year

  • Chinese Whispers  Ben Chu  (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • Angela Merkel   Alan Crawford and Tony Czuczka (Wiley)
  • The World’s Most Dangerous Place   James Fergusson  (Bantam)
  • The War That Ended Peace  Margaret MacMillan  (Profile Books)
  •  In The Ring  Don McKinnon  (Elliott & Thompson)
  • North Korea Undercover John Sweeney  (Bantam Press)

Political Fiction Book of The Year

  • My Name Is…  Alastair Campbell  (Hutchinson)
  • A Ghost at the Door  Michael Dobbs   (Simon & Schuster)
  • The Kill List Frederick Forsyth  (Bantam Press)
  • The Queen of Four Kingdoms  Her Royal Highness Princess Michael of Kent  (Constable)
  • One Night in Winter  Simon Sebag Montefiore  (Century)
  • The Wall  William Sutcliffe  (Bloomsbury Publishing)

Political Biography of The Year in association with Total Politics

  • Margaret Thatcher: Power and Personality  Jonathan Aitken   (Continuum)
  • A Blaze of Autumn Sunshine  Tony Benn   (Hutchinson)
  • The Pike  Lucy Hughes-Hallett   (Fourth Estate)
  • Disraeli  Douglas Hurd & Edward Young  (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • Edmund Burke  Jesse Norman  (William Collins)
  • Strictly Ann  Ann Widdecombe  (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Political Humour and Satire Book of the Year in association with The InterContinental London Westminster

  • Maggie & Me   Damian Barr (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • Sign of the Times  Peter Brookes (The Robson Press)
  • Britty Britty Bang Bang  Hugh Dennis (Headline)
  • Private Eye: Annual 2013  edited by Ian Hislop  (Private Eye Productions)
  • Romps, Tots and Boffins  Robert Hutton  (Elliott & Thompson)
  • The Prime Minister’s Ironing Board  Adam Macqueen  (Little, Brown)

Practical Politics Book of the Year

  • 5 Days in May  Andrew Adonis  (Biteback Publishing)
  • In It Together  Matthew D’Ancona  (Viking)
  • Democracy Ltd  Bobby Friedman  (Oneworld Publications)
  • Trading Secrets   Mark Huband  (I. B. Tauris)
  • The Blunders of our Governments  Anthony King & Ivor Crewe  (Oneworld Publications)
  • The Contemporary House of Lords   Meg Russell  (Oxford University Press)

Political History Book of the Year in association with News UK

  • Churchill’s First War  Con Coughlin  (Macmillan)
  • An English Affair  Richard Davenport-Hines  (Harper Press)
  • Catastrophe  Max Hastings  (William Collins)
  • High Minds  Simon Heffer   (Cornerstone)
  • Great Britain’s Great War  Jeremy Paxman  (Viking)
  • When Britain Burned the White House  Peter Snow (John Murray)

Debut Political Book of the Year in association with Lord Ashcroft KMPG PC

  • The New Middle East  Paul Danahar (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • Rising Tides  Liam Fox  (Heron Books)
  • The Default Line  Faisal Islam  (Head of Zeus)
  • People Power  Dan Jellinek  (Bantam Press)
  • Making It Happen  Iain Martin  (Simon & Schuster)
  • Empire of Secrets  Calder Walton  (William Collins)

Political Book of the Year in association with Lord Ashcroft KCMG PC

  • Perilous Question  Lady Antonia Fraser (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • This Boy  Alan Johnson  (Bantam Press)
  • Power Trip  Damian McBride  (Biteback Publishing)
  • Margaret Thatcher: The Authorised Biography  Charles Moore  (Allen Lane)
  • Empire of the Deep  Ben Wilson  (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • I Am Malala  Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb  (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *