Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel wins Arthur C. Clarke Award 2015

Posted on May 7, 2015 by cathturner. More news

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel has been announced as the 29th winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK’s most prestigious prize for science fiction literature. Ms St. John Mandel also collected a cheque for £2015.

The award was presented at a special ceremony held in Foyles flagship store on Charing Cross Road, London, in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers, academics and fans.

Chair of the Judges, Andrew M. Butler said:

Station Eleven is a novel that straddles the story of a global apocalypse (the Georgia Flu that wipes out 99% of the human population) and its survivors 20 years later. While many post-apocalypse novels focus on the survival of humanity, Station Eleven focuses instead on the survival of our culture, with the novel becoming an elegy for the hyperglobalised present.”

Emily St. John Mandel’s fourth novel has also garnered praise across the science fiction community, with previous Arthur C. Clarke Award winner Lauren Beukes calling it “a firework of a novel” and Game of Thrones creator George RR Martin selecting it as his favourite book of 2014 and calling it “beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac.”

In his welcome speech award director Tom Hunter responded to recent controversies within the wider world of science fiction prizes, saying:

“It’s important to remember that prizes like the Clarke Award are first and foremost celebrations. We celebrate new books and new writers, but most of all we celebrate alongside all the readers and lovers of stories who are given a unique invitation to encounter something new, something strange and something wonderful whenever a new shortlist is announced. The love of books and the sharing of stories is the true legacy we should aim to create.”

The judging panel for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award were:

  • Duncan Lawie, British Science Fiction Association
  • Nicholas Whyte, British Science Fiction Association
  • Sarah Brown, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Lesley Hall, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Leila Abu El Hawa, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represented the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges. 

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel  is published by PicadorStation Eleven sm


Read an extract and enter our competition to win a copy of Station Eleven!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.