Sports Book Awards 2018 submissions OPEN!

Posted on December 6, 2017 by alice. More news

The UK publishing industry are invited to send their entries to the Sports Book Awards 2018 before the closing date on the 10th January.

This will be the 16th Sports Book Awards ceremony, held for the 6th year at Lord’s Cricket Ground in early June 2018. Sky Sports TV will again broadcast the awards show and there will be a book retail campaign which will run in the weeks leading up to Father’s Day on 17th June.

All sports books, published in the UK in hardback or paperback in calendar year 2017, are eligible. However, different editions of titles shortlisted in last year’s awards are ineligible for submission.

It is anticipated that the key winning titles in each of the relevant categories could be available in a paperback format for the winners campaign during June 2018.

Publishers are invited to send 1 copy of each submitted title to CSBA C/O AGILE IDEAS, Studio 20, Glove Factory Studios, Brook Lane, Holt, Wilts, BA14 6RL.

The submissions deadline is midnight 10th January 2018.

Key dates 2018:
Publishers with a title/s on the shortlists will confidentially be notified 12th April
Shortlist launch/judging day – 10th May
Sports Book Awards – 7th June TBC

The longlist for the Autobiography of the Year has already been reviewed separately and announced.

Awards categories & criteria 

Autobiography of the Year
For all sports autobiographies of author/subjects born in the UK. Submissions are not taken for this award, the longlist has already been reviewed and announced.

Cricket Book of the Year
Any work of non-fiction related to cricket.

Football Book of the Year
Any work of non-fiction related to football.

Cycling Book of the Year
Any work of non-fiction related to cycling.

Rugby Book of the Year
Any work of non-fiction related to rugby.

General Outstanding Sports Writing Award
Any work of sports-related fiction or non-fiction, but focussed on sports NOT listed above.

Illustrated Book of the Year
Best use of photographs and/or drawings in a illustrated sporting title.

New Writer of the Year
The first sports-related book of fiction or non-fiction by an author (who may already have been published in another genre).

Biography of the Year
A biography of a sports-related personality, authorised or unauthorised. (The Autobiography of the Year Award, is distinct from Biography and, does NOT require submissions)

International Sports Autobiography of the Year
For all sports autobiographies of author/subjects not born in the UK.

Each of the specific sports category awards will be judged by either, the relevant Sport’s Writers’ Association or a separately selected specific panel of judges, under the guidance of SBA Chairman David Willis. All collated submission lists are passed to the individual judging panels for assessment before the shortlists are set. Further titles may be called in by the judging committees.

The number of submissions for each category will confirm which awards are actually presented, so the number of categories may vary from the above if too few are submitted in any category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *