2018 Shortlist announced for the Arthur C. Clarke award, the UK’s premier prize for science fiction literature

Posted on May 4, 2018 by alice. More news


The Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature has announced its 32nd annual shortlist:


  • Sea of Rust — C. Robert Cargill (Gollancz)
  • Dreams Before the Start of Time — Anne Charnock (47North)
  • American War — Omar El Akkad (Picador)
  • Spaceman of Bohemia — Jaroslav Kalfař (Sceptre)
  • Gather the Daughters — Jennie Melamed (Tinder Press)
  • Borne — Jeff VanderMeer (4th Estate)


The 6 shortlisted titles were selected from a list of 108 eligible submissions received from 46 publishing imprints and independent authors.


Chair of Judges, Dr Andrew M. Butler, said:


“If you are new to reading the genre, each of these tremendous novels can demonstrate what sf is capable of. It’s unusual that none of the writers have been on the Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist before, although a number of them have been contenders in previous years. We also have authors who have written in other fields or genres and it’s especially exciting to be able to draw attention to debut novelists. At the moment, any of the six could emerge as the winner.”


Award Director, Tom Hunter, added:


“In this year’s shortlist we see themes of climate change, human hubris and gender politics writ large, alongside alien encounters, apocalyptic robot armies and genetically engineered flying bears (often in the same book).

“With over 100 novels in contention again this year, and strong submissions from across the full range of UK publishing, our judging panel accepted an epic challenge in selecting these six works from the many excellent and often hotly tipped titles they received.

“The result is a shortlist forged from passionate debate and compelling contrasts but with little by way of compromise and shaped always by the purposeful intent and vision of our judges. I strongly suspect in future years that this will be a shortlist long remembered as a vintage year for the Arthur C. Clarke Award and for science fiction literature.”


The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2018 are:


  • Dave Hutchinson, British Science Fiction Association
  • Gaie Sebold, British Science Fiction Association
  • Paul March-Russell, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Kari Maund, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Charles Christian, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival


Dr Andrew M. Butler represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.


The winner will be announced at a public award ceremony held in partnership with Foyles Bookshop, Charing Cross Road, on Wednesday 18th July. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2018.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *