Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize 2019 Key Dates

Posted on April 26, 2019 by alice. More news

The Wainwright Prize rewards the best writing on the outdoors, nature and UK-based travel writing and is sponsored by Wainwright Golden Beer.

Previous winners include John Lewis-Stempel, Amy Liptrott and Adam Nicolson.

The prize will be awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values of Great British writing and culture and a celebration of the outdoors.

Helping to determine the 2019 winner is chair judge TV presenter Julia Bradbury.

Derek Cockell, Secretary, The Wainwright Society said: “The Wainwright Society is delighted to be associated with this exciting project, which has been developed by Frances Lincoln, the publishers of the Wainwright books. Alfred Wainwright was always keen to encourage the next generation of outdoor writers and would offer constructive ideas and enthusiastic support to those that sought his advice.”

Submissions for The Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize 2019 are now closed. 

Key Dates:

Submissions Open – 4th March

Submissions Close – 8th April

Shortlist Announcement – 2nd July

Ceremony – 15th August

The winner will be announced at the Countryfile Live event at Castle Howard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *