33rd Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction literature announced

Posted on July 18, 2019 by danielle. More news

Rosewater by Tade Thompson (Orbit) has been announced as the 33rd winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK’s most prestigious prize for science fiction literature. 

Dr Andrew M Butler, Chair of Judges, said: 

“Alien invasion is always a political subject, and Tade Thompson’s debut novel Rosewater expertly explores the nature of the alien, global power structures and pervasive technologies with a winning combination of science fictional invention, gritty plotting and sly wit. 

“I would like to pay tribute to our judges for this year, it was an incredibly close but good-natured argument over which novel would triumph.”

The winner was announced on the evening of Wednesday 17th July at a special ceremony held at the Foyles flagship bookshop on Charing Cross Road, London, and presented in front of an audience of science fiction writers, publishers and fans.

Tade Thompson receives a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend and prize money of £2019.00.  

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019 were: 

  • Kris Black, British Science Fiction Association
  • Andrew Wallace, British Science Fiction Association
  • Kari Maund, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Chris Pak, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Rhian Drinkwater, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Andrew M. Butler represented the Arthur C. Clarke Award in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *