Arthur C. Clarke Award

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

SFX Magazine

Genres / categories


Prize money: £2019

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 17/07/2019

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in Britain.

The annual award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a generous grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

The winner is judged by a jury panel and selected from an initial shortlist of six eligible novels. The panel of judges is made up of a voluntary body of distinguished writers, critics and fans with the panel line-up changing every year. The juries are drawn from such organisations as the British Science Fiction Association, the Science Fiction Foundation and the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival.

The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year (£2017 for year 2017).

2019 Shortlist:

Semiosis — Sue Burke (HarperVoyager)

Revenant Gun — Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)

Frankenstein in Baghdad — Ahmed Saadawi (Oneworld)

The Electric State — Simon Stålenhag (Simon and Schuster)

Rosewater — Tade Thompson (Orbit)

The Loosening Skin — Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)

The winner will be announced at a public award ceremony held in partnership with Foyles Bookshop, Charing Cross Road, on Wednesday 17th July 2019. The winner will be presented with a cheque for £2019.00 and the award itself, a commemorative engraved bookend.

Previous winners:

2018: Dreams Before Time by Anne Charnock
 The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
2016: Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky
2015: Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

2018 Winner:

The 2018 winner of The Arthur C. Clarke is Anne Charnock for Dreams Before the Start of Time, a novel set in the not-too-distant-future where men and women can reproduce without the need of the opposite sex.

Andrew M Butler, Chair of Judges, said:

“Humanity’s attitudes to reproduction have been core to science fiction at least as far back as Frankenstein. Anne Charnock’s Dreams Before the Start of Time explores the theme with a delightfully rich but unshowy intergenerational novel that demands rereading.”

She was awarded the prize of £2018.00 on the 18th of July.