BBC National Short Story Award 2017

Genres / categories

Genre, Literary fiction & poetry

Key dates

Shortlist announced: 15/09/2017
Winner(s) announced: 03/10/2017

It’s the 12th year of the BBC National Short Story Award and No.1 bestselling author Joanna Trollope is chairing the judging panel for 2017. Known as one of the most insightful chroniclers and social commentators writing today, Trollope is also a long-time short story writer. She has recently published her 20th novel, City of Friends.

Joining her on the panel is a formidable line-up of writers who are prizewinners themselves: Eimear McBride (Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction); short story writer and academic Jon McGregor (IMPAC Award); Sunjeev Sahota (Encore Award); and returning judge Di Speirs, Books Editor at BBC Radio.