Blue Peter Book Awards

Genres / categories


Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 07/03/2019

The enormously popular and influential Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000.

The Blue Peter Book Awards 2019 celebrates children’s books published in the last year in two categories: the Best Story and the Best Book with Facts. Previous Blue Peter Book Award winners include Cressida Cowell, Michael Morpurgo, Katherine Rundell, Oliver Jeffers and Liz Pichon.

Shortlist – Best Story 

The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q Raúf

The Clockwork Crow by Catherine Fisher

The House With Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson

Shortlist – Best Book With Facts

Professor Astro Cat’s Human Body Odyssey by Dr. Dominic Walliman, Illustrated by Ben Newman

The Colours of History by Clive Gifford, Illustrated by Marc Etienne-Peintre

The Element in the Room: Investigating the Atomic Ingredients that Make Up Your Home by Mike Barfield, Illustrated by Lauren Humphrey