Caine Prize

Key facts

Genres / categories

International, Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £10,000

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 31/01/2018
Winner(s) announced: 02/07/2018

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition.


*Kenyan writer Makena Onjerika wins 2018 Caine Prize of £10,000 for short story Fanta Blackcurrant. Click here to read full story.


Previous winners:

2017: The Story of the Girl whose Birds Flew Away by Bushra Al-Fadil, translated by Max Shmookkler.
2016: Memories we Lost by Lidudumalingani
2015: The Sack by Namwali Serpell