Costa Book Awards

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

Costa Coffee

Genres / categories

Children's, Multi-awards

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 29/06/2020
Shortlist announced: 26/11/2019
Winner(s) announced: 06/01/2020

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK’s most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

The Costa Short Story Award was launched in 2012. Although under the umbrella of the Costa Book Awards, it’s judged separately and the winner is voted for by the general public.

To see the 2019 winners including Sally Rooney and Stuart Turton click HERE

Bart van Es won the Costa Book of the Year 2018 for The Cut Out Girl on the 29th of January.