Desmond Elliot Prize

Key facts

Genres / categories

Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £10,000

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 24/11/2017
Longlist announced: 23/03/2018
Shortlist announced: 27/04/2018
Winner(s) announced: 20/06/2018

The Desmond Elliott Prize is an annual award for a first novel written in English and published in the UK. Worth £10,000 to the winner, the prize is named after the literary agent and publisher, Desmond Elliott, whose personal commitment to finding and nurturing new authors is commemorated with this award.

The Desmond Elliott Prize is given to a debut novel from any genre. The judges look for a novel which has a compelling narrative, arresting characters and which is both vividly written and confidently realised.

Every winner since the first in 2008 has gone on to be shortlisted for, and in many cases win, other high-profile literary awards, among them the Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Man Booker Prize and the Costa First Novel Award. The words ‘Winner of the Desmond Elliott Prize’ have become synonymous with original, compelling writing by the most exciting new talents around.