International Prize for Arabic Fiction

Key facts

Genres / categories


Prize money: $50,000 US Dollars

Key dates

Shortlist announced: 06/02/2019
Winner(s) announced: 23/04/2019

The International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) is the most prestigious and important literary prize in the Arab world.

Its aim is to reward excellence in contemporary Arabic creative writing and to encourage the readership of high quality Arabic literature internationally through the translation and publication of winning and shortlisted novels in other major languages.

The Second War of the Dog by Ibrahim Nasrallah was announced as the winner of the 11th International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) on  Tuesday 24 April 2018.

The Night Mail by Hoda Barakat was announced as the winner of the 12thInternational Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) on Tuesday 23 April 2019.

The 2019 shortlist is:

Hoda Barakat, The Night Mail (Lebanon) Dar al-Adab
Adel Esmat, The Commandments (Egypt) Kotob Khan
Inaam Kachachi, The Outcast (Iraq) Dar al-Jadid
Mohammed AlMaazuz, What Sin Caused her to Die? (Morocco) Cultural Book Centre
Shahla Ujayli, Summer with the Enemy (Syria) Difaf Publishing
Kafa Al-Zou’bi, Cold White Sun (Jordan) Dar al-Adab