JQ-Wingate Literary Prize

Key facts

Sponsors / partners


Genres / categories

Genre, Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £4,000

Key dates

Longlist announced: 01/11/2017
Shortlist announced: 02/01/2018
Winner(s) announced: 15/02/2018

The annual JQ Wingate Literary prize is awarded to the best book – fiction or non-fiction – to translate the idea of Jewishness to the general reader.

It is the only UK literary prize of its kind and, as such, attracts nominations from all over the globe. Previous winners include Amos Oz, Zadie Smith, Oliver Sacks, Otto Dov Kulka and David Grossman.

Now in its 41st year, the £4,000 prize is run in association with JW3.