McKitterick Prize

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

The Society of Authors

Genres / categories

Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £4,000

Tom McKitterick, the former editor of Political Quarterly and author of an unpublished novel, endowed the McKitterick Prize which was first awarded in 1990. It is given annually to an author over the age of 40 for a first novel, published or unpublished.