Oscar’s Book Prize

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

Amazon, the Evening Standard & the National Literacy Trust

Prize money: £5,000

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 01/03/2019
Winner(s) announced: 09/05/2019

Oscar’s Book Prize is an annual prize for the best under-fives book of the year.

It is awarded in memory of Oscar Ashton and in partnership with Amazon, the Evening Standard and the National Literacy Trust.

Now in its sixth year, Oscar’s Book Prize will continue to reward the brilliant creativity of early-years literature and highlight the importance of reading with children. This legacy only works if parents and the publishing industry are as passionate about it as we are.

There’s a Pig Up My Nose by John Dougherty, with illustrations by Laura Hughes, won Oscar’s Book Prize in 2018.