Polari First Book Prize

Genres / categories

Genre, Literary fiction & poetry

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 01/05/2018
Longlist announced: 26/06/2018
Shortlist announced: 24/07/2018
Winner(s) announced: 20/10/2018

The Prize is awarded annually to a writer whose first book explores the LGBT experience, whether in poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction.

Previous winners are –

2011 – AutoFellatio by James Maker

2012 – The Frost Fairs by John McCullough

2013 – The Murder Wall by Mari Hannah

2014 – Fairytales for Lost Children by Diriye Osman

2015 – The Rental Heart by Kirsty Logan

2016 – The Good Son by Paul McVeigh

2017 – Guapa by Saleem Haddad


The Polari First Book Prize 2018 shortlist is:

Trans Mission: My Quest to a Beard – Alex Bertie (Wren & Rook)

Mussolini’s Island – Sarah Day (Tinder Press)

Pansy Boy – Paul Harfleet (Barbican)

Carnivore  – Jonathan Lyon (HQ)

Elmet – Fiona Mozley (John Murray)

Little Gold – Allie Rogers (Legend Press)


Judges for the 2018 prize are author, journalist and host of Polari Literary Salon, chair Paul Burston; author and former Head of Literature & Spoken Word at the Southbank, Rachel Holmes; author, performer and writing coach Karen McLeod; author and comedian, VG Lee; and playwright, actor and producer, Alexis Gregory.

The winner will be announced on 20th October 2018 at the London Literature Festival.