Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize

Genres / categories


Key dates

Shortlist announced: 02/08/2018
Winner(s) announced: 01/10/2018

Since 1988 the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize has celebrated outstanding popular science writing and authors. Open to books written for a non-specialist audience, hundreds of entries are submitted by publishers from all over the world.

Over the decades, the Prize has celebrated some notable winners including Bill Bryson, Stephen Hawking, Brian Greene and more recently Andrea Wulf. Each year the panel of expert judges comprising eminent scientists, authors and media personalities choose the book that they believe makes popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public.

The 2018 prize was awarded to Professor Sarah-Jayne Blakemore for her book Inventing Ourselves. In it, Blakemore offers fresh insight based on her own laboratory research about how the brain develops during adolescence to shape the adults we become.

The 2018 shortlist was:

  • Inventing Ourselves: The Secret Life of the Teenage Brain by Sarah-Jayne Blakemore (Doubleday)
  • The Unexpected Truth About Animals by Lucy Cooke (Doubleday/Black Swan)
  • The Beautiful Cure: Harnessing Your Body’s Natural Defences by Daniel M Davis (Bodley Head)
  • Hello World: How to be Human in the Age of the Machine by Hannah Fry (Doubleday)
  • Liquid: The Delightful and Dangerous Substances That Flow Through Our Lives by Mark Miodownik (Viking)
  • Exactly: How Precision Engineers Created the Modern World by Simon Winchester (William Collins)