RSL Ondaajte Prize

Key facts

Prize money: £10,000

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 13/05/2019

The annual award of £10,000 for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, evoking the spirit of a place.

The winner of the 2018 RSL Ondaatje Prize was Pascale Petit for Mama Amazonica (Bloodaxe Books). This is the first time poetry has won the Prize.

RSL Ondaatje Prize 2019

Shortlist 2019

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the RSL Ondaatje Prize 2019:

Rania Abouzeid No Turning Back: Life, Loss, and Hope in Wartime Syria (Oneworld)

Aida Edemariam The Wife’s Tale: A Personal History (4th Estate)

Aminatta Forna Happiness (Bloomsbury)

Sarah Moss Ghost Wall (Granta)

Guy Stagg The Crossway (Picador)

Adam Weymouth Kings of the Yukon: A River Journey (Particular Books)

The winner will be announced on Monday 13 May.

This year’s judges are This year’s judges are Sabrina Mahfouz, Michèle Roberts and Ian Thomson.