Specsavers National Book Awards

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 20/11/2018

The Specsavers National Book Awards are designed to celebrate the best and most popular books of the year.

The Awards have returned this year after a 3 year hiatus thanks to headline sponsorship by Specsavers. They are held in the run up to Christmas as it’s the perfect time of year to celebrate the best books of the year and to help you find the perfect Christmas gifts.

There are eleven main categories as well as a popular vote for the best book from this year’s Zoe Ball Book Club. An outstanding achievement award will also be given on the night to an author or illustrator who has truly made their mark in books.

The eleven main categories are: Popular Fiction, Crime & Thriller, Autobiography & Biography, Popular Non-Fiction, Food & Drink, Children’s, Young Adult, Audiobook, New Writer, International Author, UK Author.

The awards are judged by The Academy, a handpicked group of the most senior and influential people in the book trade including publishers, agents, booksellers, journalists and influencers. They vote for the shortlists from a longlist of 15-25 books per category and then again to choose the winning books.

After the awards are announced the public are invited to vote for their Book of the Year from all the winning books. This winner will be announced just after Christmas. Previous winners have included David Nichols’ One Day and EL James’ Fifty Shades of Grey, Caitlin Moran’s How to be a Woman, Jessie Burton’s The Miniaturist and Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

The 2018 Book of the Year is This is Going to Hurt by Adam Kay.