The Women’s Prize for Fiction

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

Deloitte / Baileys / Natwest

Genres / categories

Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £30,000

Key dates

Longlist announced: 08/03/2018
Shortlist announced: 23/04/2018
Winner(s) announced: 06/06/2018

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman. Previously known as the Baileys Prize for Fiction until 2016 and the Orange Prize for Fiction between 1996 and 2012, the prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.

The award celebrates the very best full length fiction written by women throughout the world. Through the initiatives and promotions set up by the WPFF, even appearing on the shortlist significantly boosts a novel’s sales and ensures an author’s work will be promoted in bookshops and libraries the world over.

Founded in 1996, the winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.

*Kamila Shamsie’s 7th novel Home Fire wins 2018 Women’s Prize for Fiction. Click here for the full story. 

Previous winners:

2017 – The Power by Naomi Alderman

2016The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney

2015How to be Both by Ali Smith