The British Book Awards

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

The Bookseller, multiple category sponsors

Genres / categories

Children's, Multi-awards

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 14/05/2018

The British Book Awards or Nibbies honours and celebrates the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops. Organised by The Bookseller, it culminates in the stand-out event of the publishing year, The British Book Awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel.

Alongside trade accolades such as publisher of the year and book retailer of the year, The British Book Awards announces seven individual books of the year: Children’s; Debut fiction; Fiction; Crime & Thriller; Non-fiction: Lifestyle; Non-fiction: Narrative and (new in 2018) AudioBook. An overall Book of the Year is then chosen from the individual winners. Also new in 2018, The British Book Awards celebrates an author, or illustrator, who has achieved stunning commercial success alongside making a genuine contribution to the general health of the book world.


Previous winners (selection of multiple award categories):


Publisher of the Year: HarperCollins
Retailer of the Year: Blackwell’s
Overall Book of the Year: Elanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman


Publisher of the Year: Pan Macmillan
Retailer of the Year: Waterstones
Overall Book of the Year: The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry