The Bookbug Picture Book Prize

Genres / categories


Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 29/01/2020

The Bookbug Picture Book Prize is a project delivered by Scottish Book Trust celebrating the very best Scottish picture books and encouraging reading for pleasure in homes, nurseries, primary schools and libraries across the country. The winning picture book is voted for entirely by children across Scotland.

The 2019 shortlist is:

Eric Makes A Splash by Emily MacKenzie (Bloomsbury)
One Button Benny by Alan Windram and illustrated by Chloe Holwill-Hunter (Little Door)
I Am Bat by Morag Hood (Macmillan)

The winning title will be announced in January. Shortlisted authors and illustrators receive £500 per book, and the winner will receive £3,000.

Alan Windram & Chloe Holwill-Hunter won the Bookbug Picture Book Prize in 2019 for One Button Benny.