The Cundill History Prize

Key facts

Genres / categories


Prize money: $75,000

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 01/04/2019
Winner(s) announced: 15/11/2019

The Cundill History Prize recognizes and rewards the best history writing in English.

A prize of US$75,000 is awarded annually to the book that embodies historical scholarship, originality, literary quality and broad appeal. The two runners-up each receive US$10,000.

Administered by McGill University in Montreal and awarded by a distinguished jury, the Cundill History Prize honours the abiding passion for history of its founder, F. Peter Cundill, by encouraging informed public debate through the wider dissemination of history writing to new audiences around the world.

The 2018 Cundill History Prize was won by Maya Jasanoff  with The Dawn Watch: Joseph Conrad in a Global World.