The International Dylan Thomas Prize

Key facts

Genres / categories

Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £30,000

Key dates

Shortlist announced: 01/04/2019
Winner(s) announced: 16/05/2019

Launched in 2006, the annual International Dylan Thomas Prize is one of the most prestigious awards for young writers, aimed at encouraging raw creative talent worldwide. It celebrates and nurtures international literary excellence.

The £30,000 Prize is awarded to the best published or produced literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under.

Dylan Thomas, the quintessential adolescent writer, was ideally suited to serve as an inspiration to young writers everywhere. The freshness and immediacy of his writing were qualities that he never lost. The Prize seeks to ensure that readers today will have the chance to savour the vitality and sparkle of a new generation of young writers.


*Zambian-born British poet Kayo Chingonyi has won the world’s biggest literary prize for young writers, the Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize. Kayo was awarded the £30,000 prize for his critically-acclaimed debut poetry collection, Kumukanda. Click here to read the full story.