The James Tait Black Prizes

Key facts

Genres / categories

Genre, Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £10,000

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 20/08/2018

The James Tait Black Prizes for Fiction and Biography are awarded annually for the best works in each genre published in the previous year.

The two awards, each of £10,000, are the only prizes of their kind to be presented by a university and they have acquired an international reputation for recognising excellence in biography and fiction. In 2012 the drama category was added to the prize where judges award the prize to a play that makes a significant and unique contribution to the art form and displays an original voice in theatre and also receives £10,000.

All prizes are presented during the Edinburgh Fringe.

The prizes are Britain’s oldest literary awards. Founded in 1919 by Janet Coats, the widow of publisher James Tait Black, the prizes commemorate her husband’s love of good books.

The 2018 winners are:

Biography: Craig Brown with Ma’am Darling: 99 Glimpses of Princess Margaret published by 4th Estate.

Fiction: Eley Willams with Attrib. and Other Stories published by Influx Press.

Drama: Tanika Gupta with Lions and Tigers.