The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

Pol Roger

Prize money: £5,000

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 20/02/2019

The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize celebrates the best in non-fiction writing.The first award was made in 1956, and it has been given annually ever since.

Duff Cooper, statesman, diplomat and author, was born in 1890. After Duff Cooper’s death in 1954, a group of his friends formed a Trust to endow a literary prize in his memory.

It has always been the tradition of this Prize that it is the judges who call in the books, not the publishers who submit them. There is no submission form or process.

The Pol Roger Duff Cooper Prize was won by Anne Applebaum in 2017 with Red Famine.