The Portico Prize for Literature

Key facts

Genres / categories

Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £10,000

Genres: Literary fiction, non-fiction & poetry

Prize money: £10,000

Established by the Portico Library, Manchester in 1985, the Portico Prize for Literature is awarded biennially, this year in partnership with Manchester Metropolitan University. The prize seeks to celebrate the best writing that evokes the spirit of the North of England with the aim of raising awareness of the diversity of its cultural, literary and historical heritage.

The Portico Library has a long association with northern writers, many of whom have been, or are members of the Library. The Portico Library is a key part of Manchester’s literary scene, and hosts of a range of literary awards, known collectively as the Portico Prize Family.