The Saltire Society Literary Awards

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

Creative Scotland

Genres / categories

Literary fiction & poetry

Prize money: £2,000/£5,000

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 30/11/2018

The Saltire Society Literary Awards have a proud history of celebrating and bringing wider attention to excellence in all literary forms and is now Scotland’s foremost literary awards. From poetry and plays to novels and non-fiction, the Saltire Literary Awards are a testament to the outstanding calibre of modern Scottish literature in all its varied forms.

The Awards celebrate and support literary and academic excellence across six distinct categories with the winner of each of the individual book categories going forward to be considered for the Saltire Book of the Year Award.

Previous winners include Michel Faber, Alisdair Gray, Liz Lochhead and A.L. Kennedy.

The Awards are made possible with the kind support of Creative Scotland.

The 2018 ceremony took place on the 30th of November with All That Remains by Sue Black winning the Book of the Year 2018.