The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

The Sunday Times / EFG Private Bank

Genres / categories


Prize money: £30,000

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 13/12/2019
Longlist announced: 01/05/2020
Shortlist announced: 01/06/2020
Winner(s) announced: 20/07/2020

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is the world’s richest short story prize, with the winner presented with £30,000 and each of the shortlisted writers receiving £1,000.

The award is given to a published writer, from any country, for a single short story of up to 6,000 words.

The submission period for the 2020 award closed on December 13, 2019. The longlist will be announced in May 2020, the shortlist in June 2020, and the winner will be announced on July 2, 2020.


Danielle McLaughlin won in 2019 with her story A Partial List of the Saved

Previous winners:

2018 – Peanuts Aren’t Nuts by Courtney Zoffness

2017Half of What Atlee Rouse Knows About Horses by Bret Anthony Johnston