Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

Theakston Old Peculier

Genres / categories


Prize money: £3,000

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 18/07/2019

The Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award is the UK’s top crime-fiction award, sponsored by Theakston’s Old Peculier. It is awarded annually at Harrogate Crime Writing Festival in the UK, held every July, as part of the Harrogate International Festivals.

2019 Shortlist:

Belinda Bauer – Snap

Steve Cavanagh – Thirteen

Mick Herron – London Rules

Val McDermid – Broken Ground

Liam McIlvanney – The Quaker

Khurrum Rahman – East of Hounslow

The winner is announced on the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, on 18 July.

The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

Previous winners:
2018: The Intrusions by Stav Sherez
 Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre
2016: I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh
2015: Someone Else’s Skin by Sarah Hilary