UKLA Book Award

Genres / categories


Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 12/07/2019

The UKLA Book Awards seek to celebrate children’s books in order to:
– encourage teachers to increase their professional and personal knowledge of recently published high quality children’s books
– promote the place of books for young people in all educational settings from nursery to key stage 4

The books selected for the award will be titles that teachers can share with pupils as part of regular classroom experience, eg to:

  • read for pleasure in the teacher’s read aloud programme to the whole class
  • inspire extended response from learners (through discussion, creative
  • interaction or understanding the wider curriculum)
  • be the focus of study (set books, shared and guided reading)
  • enhance all aspects of literacy learning and literary study
  • Selection committees and teacher judges are asked to look, first and
  • foremost, for well-written, engaging ‘reads’ and, where appropriate, outstanding illustration and design.

The winners will be announced on July 12th at the UKLA International Conference, Sheffield Institute of Education, Sheffield Hallam University. 

The 2019 Shortlists:


After the Fall written and illustrated by Dan Santat (Andersen Press)

The Last Wolf written and illustrated by Mini Grey (Jonathan Cape)

Bob’s Blue Period written and illustrated by Marion Deuchars (Laurence King)

Stardust written by Jeanne Willis and illustrated by Briony May Smith (Nosy Crow)

The Big Book of the Blue written and illustrated by Yuval Zommer (Thames & Hudson)

I Am Bat written and illustrated by Morag Hood (Two Hoots)


The Explorer written by Katherine Rundell illustrated by Hannah Horn (Bloomsbury)

Running on Empty written by S. E. Durrant illustrated by Rob Biddulph (Nosy Crow)

Sky Dancer written by Gill Lewis (Oxford)

The Wild Robot written and illustrated by Peter Brown (Piccadilly)

The Murderer’s Ape written and illustrated by Jakob Wegelius. Translated by Peter Graves (Pushkin Press)

Kick written by Mitch Johnson (Usborne Publishing)


Moonrise written by Sarah Crossan (Bloomsbury)

The Poet X written by Elizabeth Acevedo (Egmont Electric Monkey)

Long Way Down written by Jason Reynolds and illustrated byChris Priestley (Faber)

Piglettes written and translated by Clémentine Beauvais (Pushkin Press)

After the Fire written by Will Hill (Usborne Publishing)

Mary’s Monster: Love, Madness and How Mary ShelleyCreated Frankenstein written and illustrated by Lita Judge (Wren & Rook)