Waterstones Children’s Book Prize

Key facts

Sponsors / partners


Genres / categories

Children's, Multi-awards

Prize money: £5,000

Key dates

Winner(s) announced: 21/03/2019

The Waterstone’s Children’s Book Prize began life back in 2005, with Stuart Hill’s fantasy The Cry of the Icemark bagging the inaugural award.

The Prize now covers three key areas of children’s publishing – Picture Books, Younger Fiction and Older Fiction. Each year, of the three category winners from the 18-strong shortlist, one title will also have the honour of walking away with the overall Prize.

The overall Waterstones Children’s Book Prize Winner is The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q. Rauf

The 2019 shortlist is:

Illustrated Books Shortlist

100 Dogs by Michael Whaite

Julian Is A Mermaid by Jessica Love

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History by Vashti Harrison

Mini Rabbit Not Lost by John Bond

The Girls by Lauren Ace & Jenny Lovelie – CATEGORY WINNER 

The King Who Banned the Dark by Emily Haworth-Booth

Younger Fiction Shortlist

Brightstorm: A Sky-Ship Adventure by Vashti Hardy

The Boy At The Back of the Class by Onjali Q. Rauf – CATEGORY & OVERALL WINNER 

The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepard

The House With Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson

The Mystery of the Colour Thief by Ewa Jozefkowicz

The Train to Impossible Places by P. G. Bell

Older Fiction Shortlist 

A Winter’s Promise by Christelle Dabos

Boy 87 by Ele Fountain

Children of Blood & Bone by Tomi Adeyemi – CATEGORY WINNER 

Me Mam. Me Dad. Me. by Malcolm Duffy

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

The Truth About Lies by Tracy Darnton

The category winners and overall winner were announced on Thursday the 21st March.