Wellcome Book Prize

Key facts

Genres / categories


Prize money: £30,000

Key dates

Submissions deadline: 08/09/2017
Longlist announced: 08/02/2018
Shortlist announced: 20/03/2018
Winner(s) announced: 30/04/2018

The Wellcome Book Prize is an annual award, open to new works of fiction or non-fiction. To be eligible for entry, a book should have a central theme that engages with some aspect of medicine, health or illness. This can cover many genres of writing – including crime, romance, popular science, sci fi and history.

At some point, medicine touches all our lives. Books that find stories in those brushes with medicine are ones that add new meaning to what it means to be human. The subjects these books grapple with might include birth and beginnings, illness and loss, pain, memory, and identity. In keeping with its vision and goals, the Wellcome Book Prize aims to excite public interest and encourage debate around these topics.


*Mark O’Connell wins 2018 Wellcome Book Prize for To be a Machine: Adventures among cyborgs, utopians, hackers and the futurists solving the modest problem of death. Click here to read the full story.


Previous winners:

2017 – Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal, translated by Jessica Moore