YA Book Prize powered by The Bookseller

Key facts

Sponsors / partners

The Bookseller / Hay Festival

Genres / categories


Prize money: £2000

Key dates

Shortlist announced: 01/03/2018
Winner(s) announced: 31/05/2018

Launched in 2014, The YA Book Prize is awarded annually to the best young adult book written by an author living in the UK or Ireland.

It is the first UK and Ireland prize to specifically focus on fiction for young adults and addresses an important need for a prize in the growing YA and teen market. The prize celebrates great books for teenagers and young adults and aims to get more teens reading and buying books.

Worth £2,000 to the winning author, the prize is powered by the Bookseller and is run in partnership with the Hay Festival, where the award is presented.


Previous winners:

2017 – Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence

2016 – One by Sarah Crossan

2015 – Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill