Shortlists Announced for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020

This year’s An Post Irish Book Awards shortlist includes Keelin Shanley, Graham Norton, Marian Keyes, Steve Cavanagh, Roz Purcell, Ross O’Carroll-Kelly, Doireann Ní Ghríofa, Rob Kearney, Mary McAleese, Bernard Brogan, Catherine Ryan Howard, Seán O’Brien, Liz Nugent, Mark Tighe & Paul Rowan, Louise O’Neill, Ray D’Arcy, Maggie O’Farrell, Neven Maguire, Emily Hourican, Roddy Doyle, Niamh Campbell, Luke O’Neill, Dara Ó Briain and many more!

Announced 20th October via a virtual video with Evelyn O’Rourke, this year’s shortlist features a diverse mix of exceptional writing from new and established writers across sixteen categories.

Below, Evelyn introduces this year’s complete shortlist – can you spot any favourites?

Covid-19 has curtailed many things in our lives but happily it cannot stem the tide of literary creativity which The An Post Irish Book Awards celebrate annually. This year we are delighted to bring you over 100 writers whose brilliant work represents the very best of 2020 writing in Ireland including many familiar faces alongside some new ones.

Big congratulations are in order for all of shortlisted writers,  illustrators, ghost writers and photographers. We thank them for their books and for helping us get through a difficult year.  Now it’s time for ordinary readers to get involved, primarily by casting their votes for their favourite books in each category.  You can also join the conversation on the awards over on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook and via the following hashtags: #ReadersWanted #VotersWanted #APIBAS

The category winners will be announced in a virtual Awards Ceremony on November 25th hosted by Evelyn O’Rourke so be sure to tune in.  Then, on December 10th, a brand new TV programme – An Post Irish Book of the Year will be shown on RTÉ One and will be hosted by Miriam O’Callaghan featuring interviews with some of the winning authors and the announcement of  the overall An Post Book of the Year.

Here’s Evelyn with some of this year’s shortlisted authors, sharing their socially distanced thoughts on their nomination:

As official media partner of the An Post Irish Book Awards, RTÉ Radio 1 is this year continuing the ‘RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award’. Five of the station’s biggest names – Miriam O’Callaghan, Joe Duffy, Seán Rocks, Ray D’Arcy and Ryan Tubridy – have each selected their favourite book of the year, which they would like readers to vote for. To cast your vote for the RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award go to

The An Post Irish Book Awards celebrate and promote Irish writing to the widest range of readers possible. Each year it brings together a huge community passionate about books – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers and librarians – to recognise the best of Irish writing talent.

Join with us in celebrating another wonderful year for Irish writing!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Sign up to receive Agile Newsletters

Sign up to the Agile newsletter for news on our prizes and projects, as well as industry insights.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.